Welcome to the Fire District No. 2 History and Heritage


In 1974,the Johnson County Board of County Commissioners created Fire District No. 2, County of Johnson, Kansas. At that time, the Fire District was merely a taxing entity. Fire service was provided by the three volunteer fire departments located within the Fire District. The Stanley Volunteer Fire Department (15935 Metcalf Ave), the Aubry Fire Department (19495 Metcalf Ave), and the Spring Hill Fire Department (100 W. Nichols) each had one fire station that provided service within the Fire District. In 1990, the Overland Park Fire Department took over operation of the Stanley fire station.


In 1991, the Aubry Fire Department and the Spring Hill Fire Department merged to form South Johnson County Volunteer Fire & Rescue, Inc. (SJCFD) Funding for this fire department came from a contractual agreement with the Fire District No. 2 Board of Directors. In 1992, in order to reduce response times and reduce its lnsurance Services Organization (lSO) protection class 8 rating, the Fire District built two additional fire stations. These two identical fire stations were located at 18475 Mission Rd and 19065 Lackman Rd. When those two stations became operational in 1993, service was provided from all four fire stations 24/7 by paid firefighters. This was a major change for the Fire District as volunteer firefighters had previously provided the vast majority of service to the area in the past. In 1995, the fire department received a re-evaluation from ISO and received a new ISO protection class 5 rating.

In 1999, the Johnson County Fire District No. 2 Board of Directors voted to take over the operation of the fire department. All SJCFD employees became employees of the Fire District and SJCFD stopped conducting business that year.


ln 2002, JCFD2 decided to build a new fire station in Spring Hill. The old facility located at 100 W. Nichols was very small and was unable to meet with needs of the growing department. Approximately 3 acres of land was donated by AFG, a glass plant in the City of Spring Hill, for the purpose of building a new fire station. Construction of the new station began in January of 2003 and it opened in October of that year.


In 2O13, JCFD2 began providing Advanced Life Support patient care to the citizens of the District. A Chief of EMS and several part-time fighter/Paramedics were hired in order to provide this service. Today, JCFD2 continues to operate from four staffed fire stations located throughout the Fire District. The department provides Fire & EMS services to approximately 140 square miles in Johnson and Miami County. Territories served by the Fire District include; the City of Spring Hill, Stilwell, Bucyrus, Chiles, Wagstaff, Hillsdale, Hillsdale Lake, and portions of southern Overland Park. JCFD2 presently operates 4-engines, l-quint, 3- brush units, 1- squad, 2-ambulances, 1- water rescue boat, and 2-tenders (water tanker trucks). The Fire District has an on-duty firefighting force of 14 personnel 24/7. The Fire District presently employs 45 full-time members, 15 part-time members, and has 3 volunteer firefighters. The Fire District obtained an ISO protection class 3 rating in 2007.